Highschool is Stressful… Even in the Summer.

I first and foremost want to apologize for not having uploaded in like 3-4months, and I don’t want to say I was studying for finals… but I was studying for finals AND my AP test (take that). Regardless, I’m here, I’m quee(r)… Just know that I’m here.

In my hiatus, I have conquered AP Physics with a flat 90 through bone-breaking labor (them eyes be sore I tell ya), succeeded with a straight-A sophomore year in high school, got a job for 6 months (before leave), and cured AIDS. Okay, maybe not the AIDS part, but I got it 100% other than that.

Let’s get to the meat and potatoes of this article and stop my articulation of my excuses. I’m currently sitting at my computer chair typing this at some ungodly hour considering I volunteer at Grady Tues and Thur, take college classes Mon and Wed, and on top of that work Fri-Sun all for that one acceptance letter to Emory that I hope to get a year and a half or so from now. Rest assured I cry myself to sleep like all worried teens about college. The “what if’s” get to me too guys. It’s OK, trust me. By now you’re probably wondering, “wtf is this guy rambling about,” or, “where’s my d*** meat and potatoes,” and I can guarantee that you will have them.

So I wanted to talk about how it is gosh darn unhealthy to even tackle so MANY things at once, like to be realistic with you I probably work about 22-25hrs a week on WITH school and my 5 AP’s, and Grady is about a good 12-14hrs, and college is 12-14. I’m basically trying to tell you guys don’t overload yourself if you can’t handle it. Seriously, it’s ok if you’re not curing cancer or AIDS, not #1 in the state at football, or any other ridiculous feat because– and I’m telling the truth here, I’ve been and still am in that same boat. The only difference is that I’m trying to get out of it and not trying to sink with it. I’ve been pushing myself constantly from the past 3-4 years to do better, try harder, and be someone I just can’t be whether it’s due from circumstance or personality. I never had these opportunities in Louisiana. In fact, my mother was fired from her job for being BLACK and being better than everyone else who was white (I’m not racist); I almost was homeless because of this; I almost lost my trailer I had lived in with my 5 siblings all my life, and when I remember this I cry. Men cry, it’s true. But I cry not because of all the hardships I’ve had, but because of how much I have overcome these boundaries. And let me tell you something: I may not be the #1 athlete in Georgia or have won Intel Finalist, but I damn sure am a better person because of what I’ve gone through and that’s what colleges want to hear. They want a human, not a robot who works 24/7 without emotion. They want someone with emotion, compassion, someone who cries, who is also reasonably intelligent, but colleges will accept you if you show them they’re what they want. Don’t worry guys, everything will be OK in the end, promise!

Leave a Reply

